Our second love was born…

After a long anticipated birth of our second baby girl, the day finally arrived. We were scheduled to be induced on Wednesday, September 10. Due to an unexpected number of deliveries that day, I was re-scheduled for Friday at 2:00 a.m. only to be told the evening prior I would again need to wait. The wait was bad enough since Ryan and I were both physically and mentally prepared to have her. I then received the call we were waiting for at 4:00 a.m.! We got ready frantically and headed to the hospital by 5:00 a.m. I was induced with Pitocin around 7:00 a.m. Contractions started almost immediately after the first dose. I walked the halls to get things moving along until the contractions were unbearable. Around noon, I requested an epidural. One word – amazing! I no longer felt the painful contractions and I was slowly dilating. It was a race against time since my OB was off at 5:00 p.m. that evening. I quickly went from 3cm to 7cm dilated in only one hour. By 3:00 I was ready… or she was ready to meet us 🙂 The delivery went perfect and we fell in love immediately. Avery Rose Patten was born at 3:10 p.m., September 12, 2014. She weighed in at 6 lbs., 14.5 oz. and measured 20 inches long. Although we were expecting a bigger baby this time, she was almost the exact same size as her sister. Two perfect little girls. We couldn’t ask for anything more. Our family is growing and we couldn’t be happier.

Checking in to the Family Birthing Suites, ready to pop!

photo 1

First glance at Averyphoto 2 SONY DSC SONY DSC

Ella was so intrigued by her baby sister. The first thing she said when she met her was, “wasthat?SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC

Scott and Natalie meeting their niece for the first timeSONY DSC

Proud Grandma and GrandpaSONY DSC photo 3

Miss Giggles in bed with mommy and Averyphoto 4

Big sister feeding Avery for the first timeDSCN1294 DSCN1296

Proud Grandma #2DSCN1298 DSCN1305 photo 1 SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC

My girlsSONY DSC SONY DSC

Avery Rose

photo 3DSCN1308

DSCN1306

photo 2 photo 4Newborn photos soon to come!

Leave a Reply

