Playroom Design Inspiration

Now that my pregnancy is going better than the first 18 weeks, my OCD is kicking in like crazy. πŸ˜‰ I have a thousand things I want to do before baby girl is born, so it’s a race against time. First project is the multi-purpose laundry/office/playroom. I have a vision of a fun, colorful play space for our girls. The wall color is already painted a pretty fun color – Palladian Blue, so I am using this as a starting point.

Palladian Blue by Benjamin Moore

Palladian Blue

We wanted to create an art corner where Ella can color, use her magnets and chalk. I found tin buckets at Ikea and thought it would be cute to hang on the wall above her play table and chairs.Β  The diy magnetic chalkboard will hang above the art buckets ~ work in progress.

Accessories needed to create hanging art buckets; (1) Fintorp Rail cut to desired length, hooks to hang the buckets from, (2) Fintorp caddy buckets and (1) Fintorp condiment bucket.

ART STORAGE

A must have for any art space is a paper roll + holder:Paper Holder

Inside the buckets, we included the following for our budding artist ~ Alphabet Magnets, chalk, colored pencils, stamp markers & stackable crayons. Art Supplies

We purchased a LATT play table & chairs from Ikea & I am planning on a paint makeover to brighten it up a bit. The table base/legs will be painted the same as our trim; Dunn Edwards White, the chairs will be a pale coral peachy pink & the top will be painted with chalkboard paint. I am leaning toward Malibu Peach by Benjamin Moore for the chair color, but still need to match the prints with the coral I choose.

Malibu Peach:

malibu peachIkea Latt Table hack inspiration:

Latt Table and Chairs

 

The playroom will be filled with lots of toys for our little ones to play with. Here are some of my favorites to name a few: Matilda Hen, Janod Alphabet Puzzle, Pig Wheely Bug, Pottery Barn Kids shopping cart & Lulu Blabla doll. We have some storage space in the cabinets, so I plan on getting a few numbered storage cubes from Land of Nod to organize toys and books.

ToysI want to make the space a little cozier, so we ordered the colorful Weaver rug from Land of Nod, a light pink bean bag chair from Pottery Barn Kids & an adorable star pillow.

Soft SeatingSome decorative accessories for our shared office space includes the Riviera Chair from Serena & Lily, a colorful teal and yellow ceramic planter, zinc ampersand, fun confetti pencils to go inside of our monogrammed ‘P’ mug & a delicious produce candle from Anthropologie.

Desk AcessoriesSince this is a multi-purpose room, we still have our laundry area to accessorize. I used some items I had in the house to use on display. I love the laqcuered trays from West Elm, so of course, I had to use one to hold laundry items. The Laundress Linen Spray, Nellie’s All Natural Laundry Soda, 2-Liter glass jar with wooden clothes pins inside.

Laundry

The room isn’t complete without a display of adorable children’s prints in frames, so I plan to hang two or three white book ledges on one wall for a fun look.

Picture Ledge

The prints ‘we’ chose include the following:

Ladybug ~ Land of Nod

Caterpillar ~ Land of Nod

Let Them Be Little ~ Etsy

photo 2Margaux Rides Her Bicycle (Custom Colors) ~ Ez Pudewa

You are my Sunshine ~ Minted

Fiona & Her Carrot Cake Ice Cream Cone (Custom Colors) ~ Ez Pudewa

photo 1Excuse me… Is there something on my Head? ~ Ez Pudewa

Sisters Dancing (Custom Colors) ~ Ez Pudewa

pineapple and pigs dancing

This completes my vision for a fun, playful space for our growing family. Now, it’s time to get to work πŸ˜‰

2 thoughts on “Playroom Design Inspiration

Leave a Reply

