A Home to Call Our Own

It is almost official… Ryan and I finally bit the bullet and purchased a home!! We have literally been looking for the past 4+ years and could never commit. Well my friends, we just did. Although not our dream home, it is going to be cute as a button when I’m through with it. I have spent hours upon hours finding inspiration for the design. I thought I would share so I have something to look back on when I change my mind 100x before making a decision. Hehe. My goal with the house is to make it an Arcadia beach home. Since Ryan and I love Kauai so much, why not bring a little into our home?

My color palette is going to consist of soft blues, greens, grays and white. I chose polished nickel as our hardware throughout. I think the polished silver will add a nice element to the kitchen and bathrooms.

First paint color selection is Benjamin Moore, Healing Aloe. It offers a soft blueish gray. I am thinking of painting our master bath and possibly the hall bath this color.

healing aloe

Next is Benjamin Moore, Palladian Blue. We are going to turn our laundry room into a multi-purpose mudroom, laundry and office. Gotta love multi-functional spaces. Since this is a room away from the main living space, I wanted to do something a little fun. I love the idea of painting the cabinets and built-in desk Pallladian blue with white or pale gray walls for contrast. We will do a white hex mosaic tile floor to keep the room light and bright. Palladian blueInspiration:

laundry1webwlogoMudroom Bench and shelf:

DunnMudroom2Built-in desk:TBH-craftroom-700

The kitchen is by far the most exciting room to design in the entire house. Currently the home has a split kitchen/living room, so we are going to remove the shared wall and open the room up. We didn’t have much wall space to work with, but I think we did pretty well with the layout. Here is what we ended up with:

photo 2 photo 3 copy photo 4

I absolutely love farm kitchen sinks, so I just had to have one! Our cabinets are Martha Stewart- Dunemere style, Color: Picket Fence. We wanted to have a little color contrast on our island so we chose Sharkey Gray. Can’t wait to see it all come together!

A couple pics of a contrasting island to give a visual:

photo 3 Dunn-Home-Meikel-Reece-_214_700

Since the house isn’t laid out for a ‘true’ formal dining room, we decided against using up the space we have in the living room and are going to do banquet style seating with ‘L’ shaped built-in benches. Who needs a dining room anyway? πŸ˜‰ This is what we’re going for:

photo 3 copy 2

Since it’s all about the details, we are going to replicate this wood planked ceiling in our kitchen and living room. I hope it turns out as amazing as this picture!

photo 1 copy

The house currently doesn’t have a pantry, so we are planning on expanding a wall and moving the HVAC to the attic. This will allow us to have a rather large walk-in pantry. Add a cute pocket door and there ya have it! One cottage kitchen I won’t be able to stay out of πŸ™‚ I’m sure Ryan will laugh at this part since I’m not much of a cook. Ha!

photo 4 copy

And now, on to the living room. I want this space to be relaxing and continue the beach theme I have going. Not set on paint color just yet, but I will probably stick to a soft gray to keep it neutral. I will add some blues and aqua throughout to add a little pop of color. After all, teal is my absolute favorite color. It is definitely my ‘go to’. The home currently has an old out-dated brick fireplace that extends along one wall. We will be removing part of the wall to the left to connect the living room to the laundry/mudroom/office space. This brings me to the fireplace design. Although the below pics are strictly inspiration since we won’t be able to do a complete fireplace make-over, rather just a facelift. I love the mill work on both of these fireplaces, so I hope to replicate this in some form.
Fireplace Tbh-Meikel-Reece-_24-682x1024 Fireplace Family-Fireplace Dunn-Home-Meikel-Reece-_13crop-754x1024I love this living room interior design. It is definitely something I want to work toward once our remodel is out of the way. It has such a warm, inviting feeling and is definitely beachy.

Living-Room-2s Dunn-Home-Meikel-Reece-_5-700 Family-Windows Dunn-Home-Meikel-Reece-_237_700The hall bath is referred to as ‘Ella’s bathroom’ since that will be all hers until baby #2 comes along and intervenes. πŸ™‚ We chose a freestanding vanity from Pottery Barn, Cararra marble floors in a mini herringbone pattern, white subway shower, polished nickel hardware and soft blueish green walls.

Floor:

91aR0u-tp6L._SL1500_

Faucet:

photo 5

White subway tile:photo 3 copy

Pottery Barn Vanity:photo 2 2+Piece+Argo+Basket+Set

Ella’s room will probably end up somewhat similar to her current room- pale pink, sprout green, ivory and white with a Moroccan stencil painted on one wall (if I have it in me to do again). Pics of little Ella’s room in our rental home:

nursery

Guest Bedroom is a work in progress. I am thinking of buying a full size bed for my mom when she visits and also use this room as a nursery for baby #2. I am really liking blue and green together, so my thought is to do something like this:

Mirror photo 5 copy 3

The master bedroom design is going to have to wait for a bit. I need to let the shock from spending all of our money on a remodel subside before I spend even more on accessorizing our room. BUT, it’s never too early to start planning! Again, soft colors- greens, blues, yellow, white, all inspired by the ocean. Notice the accent wall behind the bed. AMAZING! So amazing in fact, we are going to have to work this into our budget somehow πŸ™‚ Wish our room had these windows!! A girl can dream, right?

Dunn-Meikel-Reece-_34_600

Wall:Holliday-home-Meikel-Reece-_32_700 photo 2 copy 3 Claire+Garden+Stool+in+Green photo 3 copy 3 photo 4 copy 3 photo 5 copy 5 TBHopenhouse-Meikel-Reece-_3_600Rug I found that will go well with these colors:

cat-jasper-aqua-rugAnd last but not least, the oh-so-important master bath. Our first inspiration came from the cottages at Kukui’ula in Kauai. After trying to track down the lichen colored tile for the shower walls, we finally found what we were looking for! And what a bummer it was to find out they were priced way over what we budgeted for. 😦 As sad as I was at first, I am actually glad we are going with a much ‘safer’ look. Here is a pic of the bathroom we were going to model ours after (minus the ugly brown wood mirrors and lights):

bathWe are now going to do 3×6 cararra marble floors on a herring bone pattern (my fav), mini hex mosaic shower floor, white subway tile shower walls, a freestanding tub, white vanity, marble counter top, Kensington pivot mirrors, green glass knobs to accent the room and more polished nickel.

HerrCalacattaPClose TubShower 522-hexagonWide planked vanity wall:

photo 4 copyAdd some accent pieces and we have ourselves very handsome master bath.

photo 1 copy 2 img74oLouise+Garden+Stool+in+White

img98o

And there you have it. Phase one of our ‘beach cottage’ remodel. Can’t wait to get movin’ (literally).

One thought on “A Home to Call Our Own

Leave a Reply

