Aloha Mr. & Mrs.!

We just returned from our trip to Kauai for our wedding so I wanted to do a post to look back on.

Ella’s first plane ride went better than I imagined. She was a trooper.

photo 1

photo 2

photo 5

photo 5

And… it’s official… We are now Mr. & Mrs. Patten. We tied the knot on Mahaulepu Beach in Kauai on Thursday, May 2nd. I couldn’t be happier with our wedding day. It was everything I imagined and hoped for. Nothing better than getting married on a beach with the sound of the ocean in the background and sand between your toes.

Our wedding day:
Ryan and I woke up before sunrise and walked along the beaches and ate breakfast at Koa Kea. I later joined Natalie and Peyton for yoga overlooking the ocean. Topped off the afternoon with a visit to the spa where we did the ‘hawaiian ritual’. I returned to the cottage after a nice outdoor shower and awaited Alana and Sharleen, who did my hair and make-up. After some pics, I slipped into my dress, which was just gorgeous- a simple silk chiffon strapless ivory gown.

photo 3

photo 4

photo 5

photo 4

photo 1  photo 4

photo 1

photo 1

photo 5SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC

After everyone was ready, we headed out to Mahaulepu Beach for our ceremony. I wasn’t nervous at all, which surprised me because I always pictured myself being extremely nervous on my wedding day. I was feeling excited and happy to be marrying my best friend. We walked through a wooded trail to get to the beach. I was held back to wait for the officiant to set-up. As I stood there by myself I watched the waves roll in and took a couple deep breaths. I was trying to take it all in. Nothing like the sound of the ocean.

photo 2 photo 1On our way to get hitched

photo 3Posing with the chickens

photo 2 photo 3 photo 2 photo 1  photo 5 photo 4Waiting to walk down the aisle

photo 2I was soon cued to walk down the ‘aisle’ in the sand. As I approached Ryan with our song being sung in the background, I couldn’t help but tear up.  “A Thousand Years” by Christina Perri. The look in his eyes reconfirmed our love for eachother. We held hands and Donovan (officiant) began the ceremony.

The ceremony was short and sweet with a little Hawaiian touch. I wouldn’t have changed a thing. We were surrounded by our immediate family and couldn’t have asked for better weather. The sun peaked through the clouds and the waves were so peaceful. Ahhhh- perfection.

photo 5

My vows spoken to Ryan:
“You’re the love of my life, my best friend and I am looking forward to spending the rest of my life with you.” This was all spoken between tears 🙂

Ryan and I finished the evening with bride + groom fine art photos at Shipwreck Beach and later went to dinner at Kukui’ula. We even cut the cake and did a little cake smash. Ryan of course got a little carried away 😉  A  perfect ending to a beautiful day!

photo 2 photo 5 photo 4 photo 4 photo 5

Our vacation didn’t end there. We shared many more memorable days on the island. ~ pool time with Ella, relaxing at the spa, yoga, zip lining in the rainforest, family dinners, visit to the Farm, fishing, spouting horn, walks along the beach, canyon views, shopping in Koloa Town and an evening with Scott and Natalie at the Beach House where he proposed. Another Patten soon to come. Congrats!

Team Orange! Zip lining extravaganza.

photo 5 photo 4

Visit to the Farmphoto 1

Enjoying the Poolsphoto 5

Ella’s shadesphoto 4

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

Visit to the canyon

SONY DSC SONY DSC

SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSCSONY DSC

photo 4SONY DSCI’m married to this man!

SONY DSCLove

Leave a Reply

