Ella’s Birth Story

On October 30, 2012 @ 7:04 p.m., our lives were forever changed. I never realized what an emotional roller coaster this day would be.

Our day began in the early morning. I was scheduled for an elective induction @ 6:00 a.m. My nerves were out of control, so as luck would have it, I didn’t sleep even a minute the night before. Needless to say, I was already wiped out before my induction began. We headed to the hospital @ 5:30 a.m., checked in, changed into my ‘cute’ hospital gown, had my vitals checked, hooked me up to a fluid IV and a pitocin IV. I was extremely nervous as anyone can imagine. I think I was just worried about the unknown. Luckily, all went better than I could have imagined.

My contractions started slowly around 7:00a.m. and gradually increased in length and intensity. I opted for an epidural @ 1:00 p.m. to manage the pain. Although I wish I could have slept to prepare for labor, I just couldn’t relax my mind. The epidural was exactly as I had imagined. My contractions subsided and I couldn’t feel my legs. Around 2:00 p.m., I had my cervix checked; 2 cm and 85% effaced. I felt as if I wasn’t getting anywhere considering I was 2cm dilated and 80% effaced at check-in. After changing positions multiple times throughout the day (nurse assisted), I was again checked around 6:30 p.m.  I couldn’t believe what the nurse was telling me~ 10 cm dilated and 100% thinned out!! A gust of emotions ran through me at that very moment and I started crying. I was so excited to meet my baby girl! I kissed and hugged my mom, Ryan’s mom and of course, Ryan.

Dr. Moon showed up ready to deliver my baby around 6:45 p.m. I began pushing on each contraction; 6 sets of 3, 10 second pushes and Ella was born. She was absolutely beautiful. This was by far the most amazing experience of my life. After cleaning her off with a towel, I was able to hold my daughter for the first time. I looked her in the eyes and cried happy tears, of course. I couldn’t believe I was holding my little Ella.

After the brief time with her, she was taken from my arms to be weighed and evaluated. We had a little scare because she wasn’t breathing well on her own. After several minutes of sucking fluid from her mouth and turning her upside down, the nurses took her to the nursery for further evaluation. I was so worried because I had no idea what was wrong and felt so helpless laying in the hospital bed unable to help my baby girl. Luckily, they were able to get Ella to cry and she was announced as healthy! Gasp…

Ryan changed her first poopy diaper and used about twenty wipes 😉 Gotta love him. Ella was swaddled in a blanket and handed to her mommy to kiss and hold her. Such a surreal and amazing feeling. One day I will never forget.

Ella Grayce ~ born @ 7:04 p.m. on October 30, 2012. 6 lb. 15 oz. & 20 inches long.

birth

Ella Grayce - Birth 1

Ella Grayce - Birth 2

Ella Grayce - Birth 4

Ella Grayce - Birth 5

Ella Grayce - Birth 6

Ella Grayce - Birth 7

Ella Grayce - Birth 18

Ella Grayce - Birth 8

Ella Grayce - Birth 9

Ella Grayce - Birth 10

Ella Grayce - Birth 12

Ella Grayce - Birth 13

Ella Grayce Birth Announcement

Leave a Reply

