Pregnancy scare & 26 week update

Ryan and I wanted to go on a short little vacation one last time before baby Ella arrives, so we decided to drive out to San Diego. Our first day/evening there was nice and relaxing as we walked around downtown, discovered my new favorite drink at dinner (lemonade, club soda, strawberries and mint leaves muddled into a glass of ice), walked on Coronado Island’s beach and ate a HUGE banana split. Our trip ended abruptly with a stabbing pain in my back, which was debilitating and scary being that I am 6.5 months pregnant. The pain persisted, so we headed back to AZ the very next day.  Or vacation was short lived to say the least. After a long 6.5 hour drive back, we spent the night in the emergency room monitoring the baby. I was having contractions and intense pain in my back, so they gave me some medication to calm my uterus and stop the contractions so I didn’t go into pre-term labor. What a night! A follow up visit to my dr. concluded that the baby is fine and I have a rib displacement in my back, which is the cause of my pain. I have a chiro and massage appointment scheduled tomorrow, so hopefully I will be back to new again very soon.
Yesterday was my follow-up ultrasound to see if my placenta had moved to where it should be. As luck would have it, it did! I will more than likely have a normal delivery and not have to have a c-section- whew! She is currently in the 35 percentile for growth, which puts her at a birth weight of approximately 7 lbs. My cute little babe is healthy! The ultrasound was by far the cutest one to date. She is positioned with her legs directly over her head. She was grabbing her little toes and playing with them. I even watched her yawn. Unfortunately, I don’t have digital pics this time, so the clarity isn’t the greatest. Here she is…

26 week ultrasound

26 week update~ mom in town, rained out Sedona trip, short lived San Diego trip, back pain, emergency room, contractions, ultrasound & healthy baby!

How far along? 26 weeks
Total weight gain: 15 lb. Current weight: 110 lbs.
Maternity clothes? No, although I probably should be wearing them. I can fit in some of my shorts and of course yoga pants have been a blessing.
Stretch marks? Not yet. Eeeek.
Sleep: So-so. Back pain hasn’t been pleasant.
Best moment this week: Seeing Ella yawn inside my belly and watching her play with her little feet.
Miss Anything? Friends and family.
Movement: She’s a mover and a shaker.
Food cravings: Fruit! Oh, and my new found drink – lemonade, club soda, strawberries and mint leaves.
Anything making you queasy or sick: Not really.
Gender: GIRL
Labor Signs: Minor contractions.
Symptoms: Back pain, getting a little uncomfortable when I sleep and roll over, heart burn/acid reflux.
Belly Button in or out? Surface level.
Happy or Moody most of the time: Happy!
Looking forward to: Putting the finishing touches on Ella’s nursery and planning our baby shower.

98 days to go! Ella is the size of a head of lettuce.

Leave a Reply

